新規試験法提案書

平成 29 年 10 月 1 日 No. 2017-02

In vitro膜バリア試験を用いた皮膚腐食性試験代替法 に関する提案

平成 29 年 7 月 25 日に東京、国立医薬品食品衛生研究所にて開催された新規試験法評価会議(通称: JaCVAM 評価会議) において以下の提案がなされた。

提案内容: In vitro 膜バリア試験法として商業的に販売されている試験法として Corrositex®法がある。本試験法内の化学物質検知システム (Chemical Detection System: CDS) の適用可能物質に制約があり、偽陰性が多いことから、多様な物質をスクリーニング評価する目的には適していないと考えられる。ただし、本試験法によって陽性と判定されたものを陽性物質として識別することに限定すれば、利用可能と判断する。Corrositex®以外のin vitro 膜バリア試験法については知られていないが、開発された場合には十分なバリデーション結果に基づいて、その行政的利用性の評価を行うべきである。

この提案書は、Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Test Guideline (TG) 435, *In Vitro* Membrane Barrier Test Method for Skin Corrosionをもとに、皮膚腐食性試験資料編纂委員会によりまとめられた文書を用いて、JaCVAM評価会議が評価および検討した結果、その有用性が確認されたことから作成された。

以上の理由により、行政当局の安全性評価方法として *In vitro* 膜バリア試験を用いた皮膚腐食性試験代替法の使用を提案するものである。



大野泰雄

JaCVAM 評価会議 議長



JaCVAM 運営委員会 委員長

JaCVAM 評価会議

大野泰雄 (公益財団法人 木原記念横浜生命科学振興財団):座長

飯 塚 尚 文 (独立行政法人 医薬品医療機器総合機構)*

五十嵐良明 (国立医薬品食品衛生研究所 生活衛生化学部)

石井雄二 (国立医薬品食品衛生研究所 安全性生物試験研究センター)

井 上 智 彰 (日本免疫毒性学会)

今 井 教 安 (日本動物実験代替法学会)

岩瀬裕美子 (日本製薬工業協会)

篠 田 和 俊 (独立行政法人 医薬品医療機器総合機構)

杉山真理子 (日本化粧品工業連合会)

仲 井 俊 司 (日本化学工業協会)

中村るりこ (独立行政法人 製品評価技術基盤機構)

西川秋佳 (国立医薬品食品衛生研究所 安全性生物試験研究センター)

沼澤 聡 (日本毒性学会)

野口真希 (独立行政法人 医薬品医療機器総合機構) **

森 田 健 (日本環境変異原学会)

横関博雄 (日本皮膚アレルギー・接触皮膚炎学会)

任期:平成28年4月1日~平成30年3月31日

*: 平成 28 年 4 月 1 日~平成 29 年 3 月 31 日

**: 平成 29 年 4 月 1 日~平成 30 年 3 月 31 日

JaCVAM 運営委員会

西川秋佳 (国立医薬品食品衛生研究所 安全性生物試験研究センター):委員長

川 西 徹 (国立医薬品食品衛生研究所)

大原 拓 (厚生労働省 医薬・生活衛生局 医薬品審査管理課)

小川久美子 (国立医薬品食品衛生研究所 安全性生物試験研究センター 病理部)

加藤 篤 (国立感染症研究所)

諫 田 泰 成 (国立医薬品食品衛生研究所 安全性生物試験研究センター 薬理部)

小池紘一郎 (厚生労働省 医薬·生活衛生局 医薬品審査管理課 化学物質安全対策室)

篠 田 和 俊 (独立行政法人 医薬品医療機器総合機構)

高 木 篤 也 (国立医薬品食品衛生研究所 安全性生物試験研究センター 毒性部 動物管理室)

東野正明 (厚生労働省 医薬・生活衛生局 医薬品審査管理課 化学物質安全対策室)

平 林 容 子 (国立医薬品食品衛生研究所 安全性生物試験研究センター 毒性部)

広瀬明彦 (国立医薬品食品衛生研究所 安全性生物試験研究センター 安全性予測評価部)

廣田光恵 (独立行政法人 医薬品医療機器総合機構)

渕 岡 学 (厚生労働省 医薬・生活衛生局 医薬品審査管理課 化学物質安全対策室)

本 間 正 充 (国立医薬品食品衛生研究所 安全性生物試験研究センター 変異遺伝部)

渡邊伸一 (厚生労働省 医薬・生活衛生局 医薬品審査管理課)

小島 肇 (国立医薬品食品衛生研究所 安全性生物試験研究センター 安全性予測評価部 第二室):事務局 JaCVAM Statement on the

In Vitro Membrane Barrier Test Method for Skin Corrosion

At a meeting held on 25 July 2017 at the National Institute of Health Sciences (NIHS) in Tokyo, Japan, the Japanese Center for the Validation of Alternative Methods (JaCVAM)

Regulatory Acceptance Board unanimously endorsed the following statement:

Proposal: Corrositex® is a commercially available *in vitro* membrane barrier test method.

We do not consider this test method to be suitable for predicting the skin corrosion

potential of test chemicals due to a significant number of false negative test results

and the limited applicability domain of the Chemical Detection System (CDS).

Since a positive result from this test method can, however, be considered

sufficient for predicting a test chemical to cause skin corrosion, this test could be

useful when used within that limitation. We do not know of any other in vitro

membrane barrier model, and if a new model is developed, its suitability for use in

a regulatory context should be evaluated based on the results of a validation study.

This statement was prepared following a review of the Organisation for Economic

Co-operation and Development (OECD) Test Guideline (TG) 435 In Vitro Membrane Barrier

test method for skin corrosion together with other materials prepared by the Skin Corrosion

Testing JaCVAM Editorial Committee to acknowledge that the results of a review and study by the JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board have confirmed the limited usefulness of this

assay.

Based on the above, we propose the *In Vitro* Membrane Barrier test method as a useful means

for assessing skin corrosion potential during safety assessments by regulatory agencies.

Yasuo Ohno

Chairperson

JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board

un office

Akiyoshi Nishikawa

Chairperson

JaCVAM Steering Committee

(Michilan

October 1, 2017

V

The JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board was established by the JaCVAM Steering Committee, and is composed of nominees from the industry and academia.

This statement was endorsed by the following members of the JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board:

Mr. Yasuo Ohno (Kihara Memorial Yokohama Foundation for the Advancement of Life Sciences): Chairperson

Mr. Naofumi Iizuka (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)*

Mr. Yoshiaki Ikarashi (National Institute of Health Sciences: NIHS)

Mr. Noriyasu Imai (Japanese Society for Alternatives to Animal Experiments)

Mr. Tomoaki Inoue (Japanese Society of Immunotoxicology)

Mr. Yuji Ishii (Biological Safety Research Center: BSRC, NIHS)

Ms. Yumiko Iwase (Japan Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association)

Mr. Takeshi Morita (Japanese Environmental Mutagen Society)

Mr. Shunji Nakai (Japan Chemical Industry Association)

Ms. Ruriko Nakamura (National Institute of Technology and Evaluation)

Mr. Akiyoshi Nishikawa (BSRC, NIHS)

Ms. Maki Noguchi (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)**

Mr. Satoshi Numazawa (Japanese Society of Toxicology)

Mr. Kazutoshi Shinoda (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)

Ms. Mariko Sugiyama (Japan Cosmetic Industry Association)

Mr. Hiroo Yokozeki (Japanese Society for Dermatoallergology and Contact Dermatitis)

Term: From 1st April 2016 to 31st March 2018

*: From 1st April 2016 to 31st March 2017

**: From 1st April 2017 to 31st March 2018

This statement was endorsed by the following members of the JaCVAM Steering Committee after receiving the report from JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board:

- Mr. Akiyoshi Nishikawa (BSRC, NIHS): Chairperson
- Mr. Toru Kawanishi (NIHS)
- Mr. Manabu Fuchioka (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Ms. Yoko Hirabayashi (Division of Toxicology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Akihiko Hirose (Division of Risk Assessment, BSRC, NIHS)
- Ms. Mitsue Hirota (Pharmaceutical & Medical Devices Agency)
- Mr. Masamitsu Honma (Division of Genetics and Mutagenesis, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Yasunari Kanda (Division of Pharmacology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Atsushi Kato (National Institute of Infectious Diseases)
- Mr. Kouichirou Koike (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Ms. Kumiko Ogawa (Division of Pathology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Taku Oohara (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Mr. Kazutoshi Shinoda (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Mr. Atsuya Takagi (Animal Management Section of the Division of Toxicology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Masaaki Tsukano (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Mr. Shinichi Watanabe (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Mr. Hajime Kojima (Division of Risk Assessment, BSRC, NIHS): Secretary