新規試験法提案書

平成 28 年 3 月 10 日 No. 2015-03

眼刺激性試験代替法 In vitro 短時間曝露法 (STE 法) に関する提案

平成28年3月3日に東京、国立医薬品食品衛生研究所にて開催された新規試験法評価会議(通 称: JaCVAM 評価会議) において以下の提案がなされた。

提案内容: In vitro 短時間曝露法(The Short Time Exposure In Vitro Test Method: STE 法)は、化 学物質による眼刺激性を評価でき、トップダウン方式において重篤な眼の傷害を起こ す物質 (United Nations Globally Harmonized System of Classification and Labeling of Chemicals(UN GHS) 区分1)物質を検出する方法、ならびにボトムアップ方式におい て眼刺激性物質とは分類されない物質(UN GHS 区分外)を検出する方法として、行 政的利用が可能である。

この提案書は、日本動物実験代替法学会 (JSAAE)とJaCVAMのバリデーション報告書、Interagency Coordinating Committee on the Validation of Alternative Methods(ICCVAM)/ National Toxicology Program (NTP) Interagency Center for the Evaluation of Alternative Toxicological Methods (NICEATM) による第三者評価報告書および Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Test Guideline (TG)491をもとに、眼刺激性試験資料編纂委員会によりまとめられた文書を用いて、 JaCVAM評価会議が評価および検討した結果、その有用性が確認されたことから作成された。

以上の理由により、行政当局の安全性評価方法として眼刺激性試験代替法 STE 法の使用を提案 するものである。



大野泰雄

JaCVAM 評価会議 議長



JaCVAM 運営委員会 委員長

JaCVAM 評価会議

大野泰雄 (運営委員会推薦):座長

飯塚尚文 (独立行政法人 医薬品医療機器総合機構)

五十嵐良明 (国立医薬品食品衛生研究所 生活衛生化学部)

石井雄二 (国立医薬品食品衛生研究所 安全性生物試験研究センター 病理部)

岩瀬裕美子 (日本製薬工業協会) 金子和弘 (日本化学工業協会)

篠田和俊 (独立行政法人 医薬品医療機器総合機構)

杉山真理子 (日本化粧品工業連合会) 谷川浩子 (日本動物実験代替法学会)

西川秋佳 (国立医薬品食品衛生研究所 安全性生物試験研究センター)

牧 栄二 (日本免疫毒性学会) 森田 健 (日本環境変異原学会)

山田隆志 (独立行政法人 製品評価技術基盤機構) 横関博雄 (日本皮膚アレルギー・接触皮膚炎学会)

吉田武美 (日本毒性学会)

吉村 功 (座長推薦)

任期: 平成 26 年 4 月 1 日~平成 28 年 3 月 31 日

JaCVAM 運営委員会

西川秋佳 (国立医薬品食品衛生研究所 安全性生物試験研究センター):委員長

川西 徹 (国立医薬品食品衛生研究所)

小川久美子 (国立医薬品食品衛生研究所 安全性生物試験研究センター 病理部)

加藤 篤 (国立感染症研究所)

菅野 純 (国立医薬品食品衛生研究所 安全性生物試験研究センター 毒性部)

篠田和俊 (独立行政法人 医薬品医療機器総合機構)

関野祐子 (国立医薬品食品衛生研究所 安全性生物試験研究センター 薬理部) 高木篤也 (国立医薬品食品衛生研究所 安全性生物試験研究センター 毒性部

動物管理室)

東野正明 (厚生労働省 医薬・生活衛生局化学物質安全対策室)

中村高敏 (独立行政法人 医薬品医療機器総合機構)

日田 充 (厚生労働省 医薬·生活衛生局化学物質安全対策室)

広瀬明彦 (国立医薬品食品衛生研究所 安全性生物試験研究センター 安全性予測

評価部)

本間正充 (国立医薬品食品衛生研究所 安全性生物試験研究センター 変異遺伝部)

美上憲一 (厚生労働省 医薬·生活衛生局化学物質安全対策室)

三澤 馨 (厚生労働省 医薬・生活衛生局審査管理課)

小島 肇 (国立医薬品食品衛生研究所 安全性生物試験研究センター 安全性予測

評価部 第二室):事務局

JaCVAM statement on the Short Time Exposure *In Vitro* Test Method for assessing ocular irritation

At a meeting held on 3 March 2016 at the National Institute of Health Sciences (NIHS) in Tokyo, Japan, the Japanese Center for the Validation of Alternative Methods (JaCVAM) Regulatory Acceptance Board unanimously endorsed the following statement:

Proposal: The Short Time Exposure (STE) *In Vitro* Test Method is a suitable means for assessing ocular irritation potency in a regulatory context as part of either a top-down approach to screening test chemicals that potentially induce serious eye damage (Category 1) or a bottom-up approach to screening test chemicals that potentially induce neither eye irritation nor serious eye damage and therefore do not require classification (No Category) under the United Nations Globally Harmonized System of Classification and Labeling of Chemicals (GHS).

This statement was prepared following a review of a validation report prepared by the Japanese Society for Alternatives to Animal Experiments (JSAAE) and JaCVAM, a peer review report prepared by the Interagency Coordinating Committee on the Validation of Alternative Methods (ICCVAM) and the National Toxicology Program (NTP) Interagency Center for the Evaluation of Alternative Toxicological Methods (NICEATM), and Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Test Guideline (TG) 491 "Short Time Exposure *In Vitro* Test Method for Identifying i) Chemicals Inducing Serious Eye Damage and ii) Chemicals Not Requiring Classification for Eye Irritation or Serious Eye Damage," as well as other materials prepared by the Ocular Irritation Testing JaCVAM Editorial Committee to acknowledge that the results of a review and study by the JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board have confirmed the usefulness of this assay.

Based on the above, we propose the Short Time Exposure *In Vitro* Test Method as a useful means for assessing ocular irritation potency during safety assessments by regulatory agencies.

Yasuo Ohno

Chairperson

JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board

Akiyoshi Nishikawa

Chairperson

JaCVAM Steering Committee

a. Mila

10 March 2016

The JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board was established by the JaCVAM Steering Committee, and is composed of nominees from the industry and academia.

This statement was endorsed by the following members of the JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board:

- Mr. Yasuo Ohno (nominee by JaCVAM Steering Committee): Chairperson
- Mr. Naofumi Iizuka (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Mr. Yoshiaki Ikarashi (National Institute of Health Sciences: NIHS)
- Mr. Yuji Ishii (Biological Safety Research Center: BSRC, NIHS)
- Ms. Yumiko Iwase (Japan Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association)
- Mr. Kazuhiro Kaneko (Japan Chemical Industry Association)
- Mr. Eiji Maki (Japanese Society of Immunotoxicology)
- Mr. Takeshi Morita (Japanese Environmental Mutagen Society)
- Mr. Akiyoshi Nishikawa (BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Kazutoshi Shinoda (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Ms. Mariko Sugiyama (Japan Cosmetic Industry Association)
- Ms. Koko Tanigawa (Japanese Society for Alternatives to Animal Experiments)
- Mr. Takashi Yamada (National Institute of Technology and Evaluation)
- Mr. Hiroo Yokozeki (Japanese Society for Dermatoallergology and Contact Dermatitis)
- Mr. Takemi Yoshida (Japanese Society of Toxicology)
- Mr. Isao Yoshimura (nominee by Chairperson)

Term: From 1st April 2014 to 31st March 2016

This statement was endorsed by the following members of the JaCVAM steering Committee after receiving the report from JaCVAM Regulatory Acceptance Board:

- Mr. Akiyoshi Nishikawa (BSRC, NIHS): Chairperson
- Mr. Toru Kawanishi (NIHS)
- Mr. Mitsuru Hida (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Mr. Akihiko Hirose (Division of Risk Assessment, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Masamitsu Honma (Division of Genetics and Mutagenesis, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Jun Kanno (Division of Cellular and Molecular Toxicology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Atsushi Kato (National Institute of Infectious Diseases)
- Mr. Kenichi Mikami (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Mr. Kaoru Misawa (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Mr. Takatoshi Nakamura (Pharmaceutical & Medical Devices Agency)
- Ms. Kumiko Ogawa (Division of Pathology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Ms. Yuko Sekino (Division of Pharmacology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Kazutoshi Shinoda (Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency)
- Mr. Atsuya Takagi (Animal Management Section of the Division of Cellular and Molecular Toxicology, BSRC, NIHS)
- Mr. Masaaki Tsukano (Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare)
- Mr. Hajime Kojima (Division of Risk Assessment, BSRC, NIHS): Secretary